Carrier Poster Award

As a reminder to AES student members, please consider submitting a poster when you make your arrangements to attend the Annual Meeting. As a minimum requirement, at least three eligible students must declare their candidacy for this $150 award.

Established in 1999 as the AES Student Poster Award to recognize the outstanding poster delivered by an AES student member during the Annual Meeting, this award has since been generously endowed by Jeff and Carol Carrier. As a result, the award has been renamed to honor the Carriers, who have been longtime advocates of student participation in the Society.

To be eligible, a student must:

  1. be enrolled as an undergraduate or graduate student, or have completed his/her degree within 12 months of the presentation;
  2. be in at least his or her second year of AES membership;
  3. be a member in good standing of AES;
  4. be first or sole author of a contributed paper;
  5. indicate at the time of abstract submission his/her intention to compete for the appropriate award. Late entries will no longer be accepted.

Remember that to be a “member in good standing,” students must renew their student memberships by the end of the calendar year.

Distinct advantages of a poster include the opportunity to display research data and results for in depth perusal rather than for a brief glimpse during a slide presentation, an atmosphere that is more conducive to dialogs or discussions that are not constrained by time, and an environment that is more relaxed and less likely to produce the same level of anxiety that often precedes an oral presentation. Posters also provide a wonderful forum to present preliminary data or research that might be considered by the author to be incomplete. Candidates for the Carrier Award will not will not be penalized if their study is in progress and judging criteria will assess appropriateness of data in relation to how far along a study has progressed rather than whether or not it is completed.

As chair of the Jeffrey C. and Carol A. Carrier Fund Committee, I am open to questions and comments from student and regular members of the Society in an effort to be responsive to the needs of poster presenters. We look forward to a full slate of candidates for the Carrier Award at the Annual Meeting.

Carl Luer, Chair
Jeffrey C. and Carol A. Carrier Fund Committee

Marine Biomedical Research Program
Center for Shark Research
Mote Marine Laboratory
1600 Thompson Parkway
Sarasota, FL 34236
P: +1 (941) 388-4441
F: +1 (941) 388-4312